Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

​C​MCA Program Overview

The Certified Manager of Community Associations (CMCA®) is the only international certification program designed exclusively for managers of homeowner and condominium associations and cooperatives. The CMCA recognizes individuals who have demonstrated the fundamental knowledge required to manage community associations.

Association homeowners and board members as well as management companies seek qualified professionals to manage their communities. Obtaining the CMCA certification will give both you and your employer confidence that you have the specialized skills they need.Essential Credential.jpg

For a small investment in time and money, you can earn this certification and be recognized as a committed professional:

  • The CMCA can be obtained with a minimal investment in time.
  • With just a few days in the required prerequisite course, one day for the exam, and time in between to study, you can be on your way to receiving your certification.
  • The CMCA can be obtained at a relatively low cost, yet it's a great investment in your future.

Earning the CMCA is the first step toward building your professional image and expertise.  The Foundation for Community Association Research's (FCAR) Community Association Manager Compensation and Salary Survey​ shows that managers who obtained CMCA certification earn, on average, 20% more than non-credentialed community association managers.

Community managers interested in obtaining the CMCA certification can do so by following these three steps.

Step One:

  • Option 1: Education
    Complete and pass one prerequisite course on community association management.
  • Option 2: Experience
    If you have at least five years experience as a community association manager, you may receive a one-time waiver of the prerequisite course. The experience must be as a community ​association manager—not as an assistant manager. If you do not successfully pass the examination the first time, you will be required to take the prerequisite course prior to retaking the examination.
  • Option 3: License or Credential
    Hold an active Arizona CAAM, California CCAM, Colorado CAM, Florida CAM, Illinois CAM or Nevada CAM

Step Two:
Complete and submit the online application for the CMCA examination.

Step Three:
Successfully pass the CMCA examination. Prepare yourself for the professional challenges you face every day and boost your career.

The CMCA certification is accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA). NCCA accredits professional certification programs across the country that comply with its strict standards. The mission of NCCA is to help ensure the health, welfare, and safety of the public through the accreditation of certification programs and organizations that assess professional competence. The purpose of NCCA accreditation is to provide the means to identify certification programs that serve the public's and other stakeholders' competency assurance needs.  NCCA accreditation establishes the CMCA program as a strong professional credentialing program.

 You Passed the M-100. Now what?