Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

​​​​​​​​​Have questions? CAMICB staff are working remotely in accordance with the recommendations of health professionals, municipal, state and federal governments.  Please email all questions to​. We are working diligently to answer all incoming correspondence.​​​ Staff does not have access to the general phone system​​.  


CAMICB is aware of the rapidly evolving impact and efforts to control the outbreak of COVID-19 (Coronavirus). In response to the pandemic, CAMICB has extended the CMCA recertification and annual service fee deadlines for those credential holders scheduled to renew or recertify from April 1 to August 1. Please refer to the webpage dedicated to COVID-19 here ​for more details. 

Recertification is an ongoing process designed to promote and demonstrate continued competency in the community association management profession. This competency can be demonstrated through participation in continuing education in the field of community association management by participation in at least 16 hours of continuing education coursework every two years.

Recertification also provides the opportunity for you to reaffirm your commitment to the CMCA Standards of Professional Conduct to your community associations, your employers, your peers and the millions of people living in community associations.

Recertification allows professional managers to distinguish themselves as an accomplished professional committed to development of your skills and knowledge.

As a CMCA you can continue to enhance your marketability, show your dedication to your profession, and provide top-notch guidance to your associations by continuing your education and maintaining your certification. 

CMCAs are responsible for monitoring continuing education status and maintaining the necessary records to substantiate satisfactory compliance with the recertification program.

 When to recertify

You must recertify every two years to keep the CMCA certification current.

  • Managers are placed in either an April 1 or an October 1 recertification cycle when they become certified.
  • Managers must pay a non-refundable, non-transferable Annual Service Fee of $115 by either April 1 or October 1 each year.
  • Check your recertification date
  • Recertify online

Rationale for Recertification Interval

The CAMICB Board determined the interval for recertification to be two-years. The rationale for the recertification interval is listed below:

  1. Community association management is a dynamic profession with best practices and laws affecting the profession changing regularly. The laws that affect community association management and operations may change each year during state legislative sessions. In our research, we have found that it is reasonable to expect certified professionals to obtain information through continuing education opportunities about the changes in the laws and best practices every two years.
  2. The interval has to be long enough to allow the certified professionals to earn the appropriate credits but short enough to keep the certified professionals motivated to engage in education and training.
  3. The determination was also based on recommendations to move towards best practice which would require routine annual continued education participation annually in attempts to help certified professionals avoid long periods of education inactivity.

Recertification Guidelines

To recertify and retain the CMCA credential, a certificant must:

  • Continue to practice community association management.
  • Complete and submit the Recertification Application.
  • Satisfy the continuing education requirements.

An individual with a felony conviction for crimes of moral turpitude, including but not limited to crimes of a fiduciary nature such as embezzlement, forgery, fraud, or theft, may be denied eligibility to apply, reinstate, or recertify regardless of the time since conviction.

Professional Development

Professional Development refers to skills and knowledge attained for personal development and career advancement. For CMCA recertification purposes, professional development encompasses a variety of facilitated learning opportunities, ranging from college degrees and coursework, conferences, professional coaching, communities workshops, seminars, symposiums, and webinars. Examples of professional development courses are community association management operations, administration, and legal requirements. In addition, courses may include accounting, human resources, and public administration. Continuing education courses must be listed on the documentation worksheet required for recertification and each recertification application and accompanying documentation form will be evaluated to ensure that the course is relevant to the continuing education of a community association manager and that it will enhance the knowledge and/or skills of a community association manager.

Continuing Education

Recertification requires the completion of 16 hours of continuing education within your two-year certification period.

Any individual who meets the continuing education requirements to maintain the below credentials will satisfy the current CAMICB continuing education requirement:

  • CAI's Association Management Specialist (AMS)
  • CAI's Professional Community Association Manager (PCAM)
  • National Association of Housing Cooperative's (NAHC) Registered Cooperative Manager (RCM) designation
  • Florida's Community Association Manager license (CAM)
  • Nevada's Community Association Manager certificate

Credit Specifications

  • Credit hours may be earned only for education that meets either of the following criteria:
    • It pertains to community association operations or management
    • It contributes to the professional development of the CMCA

Educational courses are offered by approved course providers. Coursework approved by a state regulatory agency for manager licensing requirements will be approved for CMCA recertification continuing education credit. These states currently include: Colorado, Florida, Georgia, ​Nevada, Virginia.

  • One half of the continuing education credits may be obtained through in-house training courses.  These courses must be pre-approved by the Continuing Education Review Committee.
  • Local law seminars and local college or university courses pertaining to accounting, business practices, computers, or foreign language will count toward the continuing education requirement
  • Courses related to buying and selling real estate are not acceptable.
  • Self-study credit must be pre-approved by CAMICB and is limited to no more than four hours every two years.
  • Teaching a course related to community association management can qualify for credit.
  • Publishing an article in a regional or national community association publication may qualify for credit.
  • One hour of credit equals one hour attended.
  • Managers may only receive credit one time per course.
  • Credit for a course may only be submitted one time per recertification cycle.
  • Online learning must be interactive.  Interactive coursework is defined as requiring proof of participation.

Recertification Documentation

CAMICB Board policy requires CMCAs to provide documentation of continuing education with recertification. The CMCA is required to submit a completed recertification application along with proof of continuing education.

Acceptable forms of documentation are:

  • Completed continuing education tracking form provided by CAMICB noting specifics about the continuing education
  • Certificates of attendance/completion
  • Agendas
  • Transcripts
  • Sign-in sheets
  • Invitation or acknowledgement for presentation
  • Course outlines
  • Copies of articles (for those who author articles)

 Please read the information about additional state-specific requirements.